Carol Swayne

In celebration of Carol Swayne, NPZA has created the Carol Swayne Planning Commissioner Award. Swayne was a past president of NPZA and broke a mold when she became the first non-professional planner to serve on the board of directors of the American Planning Association. She was a 30-year member of the Bellevue Planning Commission and recipient of the first (1999) Loretta Ludemann Excellence in Planning by a Nebraska Woman Award. Carol Swayne’s dedication to good planning in her years of service to the City of Bellevue and the NPZA Board serves as an inspiration to other planning commissioners throughout the state.

Prior Years Recipients:

  • Dean Rolls, Adams County (2024)
  • Russell Kumm, Stanton County (2023)
  • Mike Kabes, Stanton County (2023)
  • Keith Marvin, City of David City Planning Commission (2022)
  • Jeff Sinnett, City of Ralston Planning Commission (2022)
  • Pat O’Neill​, Hall County Regional Planning Commission​ (2021)
  • Leslie Ruge, Hall County Regional Planning Commission – Village of Alda (2020)
  • Charley Colton, Chase County Zoning Board (2019)
  • Gayle Malmquist, City of La Vista/Sarpy County (2018)
  • Donald Fenster, Sarpy County (2015)
  • Dallas Oestreich, Pierce (2014)
  • Ralph Carter, City of Fort Calhoun (2013)
  • Carol Swayne, City of Bellevue (2013)
Carol Swayne Image